International Structure for Organizations & Individuals

The Organization of a Global Network

The diverse array of people of conscience who identify with IFOR's values work primarily through member organizations which we group into branches, groups or affiliates. Representatives from these organizations meet every four years at an International Council, to decide on policies and develop international programs. An elected International Committee (ICom) meets regularly between Councils to oversee the implementation of these decisions.

The Courage of individual action with the Strength of a Supportive Community

IFOR understands the importance of local action and we realize that local actions can have global significance. Working for peace and justice can sometimes be isolating work, and not everyone has supportive community. Individuals are encouraged to work with member organizations but there have often been individual members of IFOR who are not represented by a member organization. We work to provide encouragement and support to people throughout the world who are promoting nonviolence in their home communities and nations. Some of these courageous individuals exist in areas where there is no formal branch, group or affiliate of IFOR. 


Peace Prize Laureates

IFOR has six Nobel Peace Prize Laureates among its former and present members that have all been or are actively contributing to the dissemination and teaching of non-violence.


Jane Addams (1931)

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. (1964)

Emily Greene Balch (1946)


Mairead Corrigan-Maguire (1976)

Chief Albert Luthuli (1960)


Adolfo Pérez Esquivel (1980)